Highways England Awards
Safety · Customer · Delivery

The ICC, Birmingham
10 February 2021

Submit your entries now – now closed

Judging criteria

Rules of entry

  • Projects, programmes, campaigns and initiatives entered must relate to work done with Highways England. If your application was entered previously it must have made significant progress or achieved new results before re-submitting.
  • Each entry is eligible for one award only.  Please ensure you choose the most appropriate category.  The judges reserve the right to move a submission to another category if they believe it is a more appropriate fit.
  • Supporting evidence may include: a video, five images, two supporting documents of no more than four sides of A4 each and five logos.
  • We expect to receive a high volume of submissions, and unfortunately we’re unable to provide feedback on unsuccessful nominations.
  • Highways England accepts no responsibility for entries which are not submitted in accordance with the rules of entry (which includes lost, incorrect or delayed entries).
  • The judging panel’s decisions are final. Highways England will have no responsibility to entries which do not win an award.


Submitting entries

  • Entries must be submitted using this online platform only.
  • The opening date for applications is 12 noon on 23 September 2019.
  • The closing deadline for receiving entries is 5pm on 6 December 2019.
  • If you’re submitting multiple entries, please send a separate submission for each entry.
  • Finalists will be advised in February 2020 and will be required to provide a brief video to be used at the awards ceremony by 30 March 2020.
  • The winners will be announced at the Highways England Awards ceremony on 8 October 2020.
  • For more information, please contact us at HEawards@highwaysengland.co.uk

Tips for entrants:

The Highways England Awards entry process has been simplified this year. These steps will help guide you through your application:

  • Award entries must be submitted online: awardsplatform.com
  • If you have any problems using the online platform, please contact us using our dedicated awards email address: HEAwards@highwaysengland.co.uk
  • The awards are free to enter, with complimentary tickets to the awards ceremony for shortlisted applicants.
  • We’ve included the judges’ criteria to help you choose the right category and support you in providing all the evidence to ensure a winning entry!
  • Applicants may enter more than one category.

Top tips before submitting your entry

Have you submitted your entry for the 2020 Highways England Awards yet

We want you to submit the best entry you possibly can, so we’ve put together some tips to help you on your way!

One of the most important things to do is to read and understand the judging criteria – what do the judges want from you, and make sure you cover these in your entry. Each point of criteria carries equal marks.

Try and be as clear as possible and use plain English when preparing your entry. You and your team may speak acronyms, but the judges won’t.

Treat your entry like a shop window into your project – you need to attract interest and make people want to know more. Think – how do television adverts grab your attention?


Here’s 10 top tips for winning award entries:

Top Tips for entrants:

  • Read the instructions and play close attention to the rules of entry.
  • Make the deadline. Don’t miss the closing date of 5pm 6 December.
  • Address each judging criteria with equal emphasis.
  • Make your entry stand out. Keep it simple and eye-catching.
  • What makes you different from everyone else – what is your unique selling point?
  • Show your results, evaluation and how your entry has made an impact to the industry?
  • Submitting an entry takes time and effort, so give yourself enough time to complete all the relevant information, this is particularly important if you are entering as a joint venture – put someone in charge, and make sure the lead applicant has all the information they might need.
  • Look at last year’s winners – why did they win? What made them stand out in that particular category? Make sure you have something similar in your entry.
  • Make it personal. Staff and personal stories can bring entries to life, so use any case studies, or staff/ customer testimonials to tell your story.
  • We know you’ll have lots to tell us, but remember the judges will have many entries to read, so be efficient in your use of words and reduce the number of pages of text the best you can.


Chairman’s Award

The Chairman will make his selection from all the winners to award this prestigious accolade.

Submitting an entry

Submissions must clearly evidence outcomes and reflect and support Highways England’s values of safety, ownership, passion, integrity and teamwork. In addition, entries should clearly demonstrate all of the judging criteria and clearly evidence what the project/initiative has achieved.

The judges



First stage judges

Rowena Hill Change and Engagement Manager
Stew Evans Head of Health and Safety Programme
Rebecca Eaton Occupational Health and Wellbeing Manager
Richard Leonard Head of Road Safety
Iain Rillie Technical Innovation Specialist

Second stage judges

Alan Cumming Highways England Non-Executive Director
Mike Wilson Chief Highways Engineer
Lesley Waud Design Development Director, Atkins
Mark Byard Director of Health and Safety


Customer service:

First stage judges

Mel Clarke Customer Service Director for Operations
Meg Archer Downing Customer Service Director for Major Projects
Laura Baker Head of Customer Experience
Pete Martin Customer Service Standards Director
Jenn Ebanks Head of Commercial and Procurement (Customer)


Second stage judges

Vinita Hill Director of Performance and Change
Peter Allen Executive Director of Corporate Affairs
Guy Dangerfield Head of Strategy, Transport Focus



First stage judges

Stephanie Wheat HR Business Partner
Rani Gahir HR Business Partner
Belinda Blake Senior Policy Advisor
Georgette Foster-Bell Supply Chain Manager
Philip Orumwense IT Commercial Director
Annette Pass Head of Innovation
Simon Diggle Head of Supplier Development
Colin Holm Senior Environmental Advisor Sustainable Development and Climate
Dean Kerwick-Chisp Principal Environmental Advisor and Team Leader Sustainable Development and Design
Simon Diggle Head of Supplier Development
Simon Smith Head of Performance Managment
Jon Cole Head of Procurement Efficiency and Productivity
Rich Marshall Divisional Director
Laura Coogan Cost Intelligence Analyst
Sadia Ahmad Team leader, Strategic Supplier Development
Laurence Lewis-Jones Senior Environmental Advisor

Second stage judges

Peter Mumford Executive Director Major Projects
Paul Doney Divisional Director
David O’Neil Supply Chain Director
Martin Tugwell CIHT President 2019/20


  • Customer


    • Excellence in customer experience
    • Customer focused network management
    • Employee engagement and behavioural change
    • Customer service champion of the year
  • Delivery


    • People, skills and cultural excellence
    • Digital transformation
    • Excellence in environment and sustainability
    • Supply chain collaboration
    • Efficiencies and continuous improvement
  • Safety


    • Excellence in health and wellbeing
    • Excellence in safety for road users
    • Excellence in safety learning
    • Excellence in safety innovation
    • Home Safe And Well champion of the year


The venue for the celebration on 10 February 2021 is ICC, Birmingham

8 Centenary Square, Birmingham, B1 2EA

Travel: The nearest train station is Birmingham New Street. From the station by foot: head up to Victoria Square and follow the signs to Centenary Square, the ICC and Arena Birmingham. Enter Centenary Square and walk straight towards the ICC, passing the Library of Birmingham and Rep Theatre on your right.

Contact details: HEAwards@highwaysengland.co.uk