The crossing will boost local, regional and national economies, and form an essential part of the UK’s transport infrastructure, improving connections across the country.

The Lower Thames Crossing will benefit the Lower Thames area around Kent, Thurrock and Essex. It will:

  • improve journey times along parts of the A127 and M20
  • cut congestion on approach roads to the Dartford Crossing (including parts of the M25, A13 and A2)
  • increase capacity across the Thames from four lanes in each direction currently (at Dartford) to seven lanes each way (Dartford plus the Lower Thames Crossing)
  • allow nearly double the amount of traffic to cross the Thames
  • Placeholder

    Who are Lower Thames Crossing

  • Placeholder

    What will the Lower Thames Crossing do

  • Placeholder

    Careers with the Lower Thames Crossing

  • The Lower Thames Crossing will have:

    • approximately 14.5 miles (23km) of new roads connecting the tunnel to the existing road network
    • three lanes in both directions with a maximum speed limit of 70mph
    • improvements to the M25, A2 and A13, where the Lower Thames Crossing connects to these roads
    • new structures and changes to existing ones (including bridges, buildings, tunnel entrances, viaducts and utilities such as electricity pylons) along the length of the new road
    • two 2.5 mile (4km) tunnels, one for southbound traffic, one for northbound traffic crossing beneath the river
    • a free-flow charging system, where drivers do not need to stop but pay remotely, similar to that at the Dartford Crossing
  • We want the Lower Thames Crossing to achieve the following:

    • To support sustainable local development and regional economic growth in the medium to long term
    • To be affordable to government and users
    • To achieve value for money
    • To minimise adverse impacts on health and the environment
    • To relieve the congested Dartford Crossing and approach roads, and improve their performance by providing free-flowing, north-south capacity
    • To improve resilience of the Thames crossings and the major road network
    • To improve safety