Highways England Awards - The judges

The finalists have been announced

Coronavirus (Covid-19) update

The Highways England Awards team have decided to postpone the awards ceremony due to the current risk posed by Coronavirus (Covid-19).

With everybody’s safety in mind, the awards have been moved back to 10 February 2021. All other details remain the same, taking place between 17.30 and 23.00 at The ICC Birmingham, 8 Centenary Square, B1 2EA.

We are sorry that we have had to delay such a special evening. If you have any questions please contact the team at:



First stage judges

Safety - First stage judges
Judge Name Judge position
Rowena Hill Change and Engagement Manager
Stew Evans Head of Health and Safety Programme
Rebecca Eaton Occupational Health and Wellbeing Manager
Richard Leonard Head of Road Safety
Iain Rillie Technical Innovation Specialist

Second stage judges

Safety - Second stage judges
Judge title Judge description
lan Cumming Highways England Non-Executive Director
Mike Wilson Chief Highways Engineer
Lesley Waud Design Development Director, Atkins
Mark Byard Director of Health and Safety

Customer service

First stage judges

Customer service - First stage judges
Judge name Judge position
Mel Clarke Customer Service Director for Operations
Meg Archer Downing Customer Service Director for Major Projects
Laura Baker Head of Customer Experience
Pete Martin Customer Service Standards Director
Jenn Ebanks Head of Commercial and Procurement (Customer)

Second stage judges

Customer service - Second stage judges
Judge name Judge position
Vinita Hill Director of Performance and Change
Peter Allen Executive Director of Corporate Affairs
Guy Dangerfield Head of Strategy, Transport Focus


First stage judges

Judge name Judge position
Stephanie Wheat HR Business Partner
Rani Gahir HR Business Partner
Belinda Blake Senior Policy Advisor
Georgette Foster-Bell Supply Chain Manager
Philip Orumwense IT Commercial Director
Annette Pass Head of Innovation
Simon Diggle Head of Supplier Development
Colin Holm Senior Environmental Advisor Sustainable Development and Climate
Dean Kerwick-Chisp Principal Environmental Advisor and Team Leader Sustainable Development and Design
Simon Diggle Head of Supplier Development
Simon Smith Head of Performance Managment
Jon Cole Head of Procurement Efficiency and Productivity
Rich Marshall Divisional Director
Laura Coogan Cost Intelligence Analyst
Sadia Ahmad Team leader, Strategic Supplier Development
Laurence Lewis-Jones Senior Environmental Advisor

Second stage judges

Delivery - Second stage judges
Judge name Judge position
Peter Mumford Executive Director Major Projects
Paul Doney Divisional Director
David O’Neil Supply Chain Director
Martin Tugwell CIHT President 2019/20